Tudhoe Learning Trust Board of Directors

Tudhoe Learning Trust is governed by a Board of Directors that exists to oversee all activity within the Trust, provide strategic leadership, planning and direction through goals and objectives that align with our organisational aims and ethos.

The Trust appoints a Local Governing Body to each school that aims to be a locally invested, interested and skilled group of people who will provide support and challenge to the school in line with Trust objectives, school improvement planning and evaluation.  Local governing bodies will also support senior leaders in certain decision making processes to ensure fairness, consistency and transparency.

Our Directors and Governors are unpaid volunteers who share our values and aims and are passionate about improving standards, outcomes and experiences for children as well as creating a desirable working environment for our staff.

Information about our Directors and Governors declarations of interest in relation to business and pecuniary interest can be found here Business and Pecuniary Interests 2023-2024  Declarations are sought annually and retained centrally.  Governors and Directors are aware of their obligation to inform the Trust of any relevant or significant change in their circumstances.

Governors and directors perform a vital role and must set a high standard of conduct and expectation.  More information about our Trust Governors and their Code of Conduct  can be found here.  If you are interested in supporting our Trust or one of our schools at a local level and you have relevant skills or expertise then we are interested to hear from you.  To be considered please complete the application form.

Information about our Directors attendance and resignations is updated regularly and can be found here:

Active Trust Directors

Mr Ivan Whitfield – appointed 26 October 2012

Term of Office 1st January 2022 to 31st December 2025

Chair of Directors

Mr Whitfield was the Chair of Governors at Tudhoe Colliery Primary School for many years. He is a Director of Sport at Sunderland University and lives locally in Tudhoe with his family.

Mr Jim Smith – appointed 26 October 2012

Head Teacher, Tudhoe Colliery Primary School.
Executive Head Teacher / CEO, Tudhoe Learning Trust

Mr David Collins – Appointed 8 December 2017

Term of Office 1st January 2022 to 31st December 2025

Chair of Audit Committee

Mr Collins joined our Board bringing with him skill and expertise in finance from within the private sector.

Mrs Vivienne Ingleton – Appointed 13 July 2018

Term of Office 1st January 2022 to 31st December 2025

Director responsible for Safeguarding

Although now retired, Mrs Ingleton has a wealth of experience within education and remains active in school governance in primary, secondary and alternative provision settings.

Mrs Irene  Cochrane – Appointed 27 March 2020

Term of Office 1st January 2022 to 31st December 2025

Vice Chair of Directors

Although now retired, Mrs Cochrane has a wealth of experience within education with local authorities.

Mr Damian Groark – Appointed 01 April 2022

Term of Office 1st April 2022 to 31st March 2026

The Trust is delighted to welcome Mr Groark to its Board.  Mr Groark was previously a Headteacher for over 20 years and currently lectures at University,. He  has a wealth of experience in leadership and financial management.

Mr Vincent Robson – Appointed 28th March 2024

Term of Office 28th March 2024 to 27th March 2028

Mr Robson has a wealth of commercial experience within education and sport.

Resigned Directors

Mrs Sheila Isobel Palmerley16 May 20149 June 2016
Mrs Juliet Price26 October 201210 June 2016
Mrs Carole Smith26 October 201212 May 2014
Mrs Lindsey Moses26 October 20127 April 2017
Mr Robert Robson1 September 20159 October 2017
Mrs Rachel Kate Hodge01 September 201526 September 2017
Mrs Joan Temple01 September 201530 September 2017
Mr Derek Turner01 December 201225 February 2019
Mr Mike Simpson01 December 201201 July 2019
Miss Allison Boustead26 October 20121 October 2021
Mr David Bowes26 October 201231 August 2022
Mr Richard Coulson27 May 202115 February 2023
Resigned Directors

Articles and Funding Agreements

Privacy Policy

We regard your privacy as important and any personal information you give to us will be used in accordance with the Data Protection Act and the General Data Protection Regulations.

We do not store personal information about individuals who visit this site except where they provide contact information via our contact us page and contact forms available on various pages throughout the website.

Any information you provide will only be used for the reasons specified and it will not be shared with any third party without your consent, unless required by law.

Your contact details are kept securely and are only accessed by authorised members of staff as part of the provision of school services. If you do not wish us to keep this contact information please tell us.

This website uses Google Analytics which provides statistical data about the usage of the site. This information is not used to identify individuals, but is collected to provide us with an understanding of the areas of interest on our site and how our site is being used.

If you are connected to the internet you will have an IP Address. This may take the form of a figure, such as 333.333.22.1. The address will be automatically collected and logged as part of the connection of your computer to our web server and may be used to determine the total number of visits to each part of the site. This data is not collected and used for other purposes.

This website contains links to other websites. The School is not responsible for the privacy practices of other sites or organisations and recommends you consult the privacy information on those sites.

This policy will be reviewed and updated versions will be posted on the website.

If you have any questions about the use of your personal information, the Information Commissioner is the independent regulator for both Data Protection and Freedom of Information.